How do I get started from nothing?

I have no recent experience with HTML and CSS, nor with web site design, but want to customize the look of my micro.blog hosted site. Where do I go to learn that?

I couldn’t find any tutorials for those unfamiliar with templates in the help center. The gohugo website isn’t helpful, since their get started tutorial won’t run without a warning on my development machine, Raspbian version 11 (bullseye), Hugo version 0.80.0. I tried the YouTube tutorials by Mike Dane, but those just led me into the weeds of keeping too many details in my head at once, promised to be explained later, only to seemingly add even more minutia to keep track of.

So, your question can be rephrased to How do I become a hobbyist web developer?

And just like with similar questions, How do I become a hobbyist mechanic/gardener/musician?, it’s tough to answer. There’s no single way, and everybody learns differently. Some prefer books, and others want videos. Some people cannot learn by themselves; they must attend a class or hire a tutor.

I don’t think there’s a single resource out there that will take you from zero to Hugo. Hugo is a powerful tool designed and built with web developers as a target audience. The creators of Hugo expect you to already know HTML, CSS, Go, and preferably JavaScript.

It can be a non-trivial tool to learn, even for people with a background as programmers. I’ve built websites as a hobby since 1997. And I have more than two decades of experience getting paid to build websites for others. And I still struggle with Hugo sometimes. :blush: I think their documentation sucks. More than once, I’ve had to read the actual source code because the documentation is subpar.

So you’re up for an extra challenge as you want to learn Hugo, which is relatively niche compared to, say, WordPress. There are a ton of resources out there for WordPress. Hugo, not so much, unfortunately.