Building a custom theme with Tailwind CSS locally?

I’m working on my own custom theme: GitHub - Nezteb/theme-nezteb: A micro.blog theme I'll be building out to support my personal website: nezteb.net

I’m trying to set up Tailwind CSS via their CDN. Has anyone done this before? I’m new to both micro.blog and Hugo. I’m reading through the Hugo docs, but having some troubles finding a good workflow.

Is there an easy way to test a theme locally using either data from micro.blog or stub data? I’d like to be able to run hugo server (or some other command) and then see my theme with content. Is anyone aware of such a flow?

I’d appreciate any and all ideas folks might have! :smile:

You can look at a version of my theme GitHub - jsonbecker/theme-dailylog. I use the exampleSite folder, like a lot of hugo themes, so that I can see roughly what will happen by just using hugo server locally. I adjust that content if I want to see different features.

If you want to get the Markdown files from your Micro.blog blog, you can click Posts → “…” → Export → “Export theme and Markdown”. Then you can copy the files over from the “content” folder.

After testing locally, you can also create a test blog on Micro.blog (under Design → Edit Custom Themes → New Test Blog). Then pull in the theme from GitHub and test it without messing with your real microblog.

Local development is easier than it first appears.

Hugo

The first step is to decide on and download one of the two Hugo versions that Micro.blog supports: version 0.54 or version 0.91
(I chose 0.91 and had no issues.) Follow Hugo’s documentation to install it on your operating system.

Content to Style

After Hugo is installed on your system, I highly suggest populating it with your own blog’s data. Things make more sense when you are working with familiar data.
Screenshot 2023-01-12 at 2.25.13 PM

1. While logged into Micro.blog, visit your Posts page